For full functionality to work on this website and get the best experience, please make sure JavaScript is enabled.

Is HiPP formula suitable for vegetarians?

HiPP formula milks are not suitable for vegetarians due to the addition of oligosaccharides - animal rennet is used in the extraction of the lactose from milk which is used as the base for the production of these oligosaccharides.  Similarly, the lactose and whey powder used in some of our formulas are also sourced using the same extraction method.

Unfortunately, sources of non-animal rennet are scarce, and this is an industry-wide problem. As a result, most of the standard first infant formula milks currently available in the UK are not vegetarian.